Nectar for your Valentine Foodie

I’d like to take credit for this idea, but I can’t. I read a story by Jenny from Food52.com about a Flirtini recipe using St. Germain liqueur, and she wrote this:

“you should ask someone who was thinking of buying you some nice chocolate for Valentine’s Day to get you this instead.”

What a brilliant idea. Chocolate is all fine and good, but it’s so predictable. And roses? They die. Not to mention they don’t taste very good.

But a bottle of St. Germain liqueur? Perfect.

Two other liqueurs I recommend for Valentine’s Day gifts are Domaine de Canton, which a ginger and VSOP cognac infusion, and Godiva’s Mocha liqueur, which to me, tastes far better than their original chocolate liqueur.

I love cooking with liqueurs, and St. Germain is most unusual. Made from the essence of elderflowers harvested from the French Alps, it has a unique aroma and taste, with hints of pears, honey and floral notes. And did I mention it was French? Ooh-la-la.

Of course it makes lovely cocktails but you can do more than just mix elixirs.

Here are just a few ideas for the St. Germain and the Domaine de Canton (just pour a glass of the Godiva and sip it while you ponder these liqueur cooking options):

1. Reduce it to a syrupy consistency and drizzle over vanilla ice cream or fresh fruit.

2. After sauteing chicken breasts, deglaze the pan with it and then swirl in cold butter to make an infused beurre blanc sauce.

3. Whisk in a couple tablespoons to a white wine vinaigrette to serve over a pear and mixed green salad.

4. Fold a couple tablespoons into whipped cream or caramel sauce

5. Mix with fresh goat cheese and serve with crackers

6. Add a tablespoon to perfume cooked rice.

If you must deliver the requisite bouquet and box of chocolates, by all means do.

But think about sweetening the deal with a bottle of nectar.

You’ll come out smelling like a rose.

3 Comments

Filed under Book & Product Reviews

3 responses to “Nectar for your Valentine Foodie

  1. I’m a liqueur fiend and have to rein myself in before I bankrupt myself. Grand Marnier is always wonderful — my wedding cake had grand marnier buttercream. And another liqueur I’ve been having a flirtation with lately is Chartreuse. I have a recipe for a chartreuse souffle I’ve been dying to try.

  2. Just have to leave you with this link about St. Germain and Domaine de Canton from the WSJ, sent to me by @AlohaZen.

    You’ll never guess the connection between the two. Fascinating story.

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB123578523945698543.html

  3. Teresa

    Perfect!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    btw your photos are “the” cherry on the top……….

    Teresa

Leave a Reply

